Vegan recipe

Roasted Chickpeas

I’ve been seeing roasted chickpeas all over grocery stores, and they’re quite pricey!  I bought a bag on sale to try them, and liked them a lot.  I love crunchy snacks.  Then I started seeing recipes online to make your own chickpeas.  Last night I baked some sweet potatoes, and I decided to throw in a sheet of chickpeas for the heck of it to test it out. 

I sprinkled on various spices like cumin, turmeric, salt, garlic and also a bit of soy sauce, sugar and extra virgin olive oil.  The oven was set at 380 and I baked them for about 30-40 minutes.  I actually lost track of how long I baked them because I was cleaning and taking a shower, so by the time I opened the oven to check on them they had blackened a bit.  But, they still came out delicious! I found the texture exactly to my liking- crunchy and just a bit of roasted chewiness in the center.

I added some to my lunch of rice, Indian eggplant and sweet potatoes and I can’t wait to eat it today!

Garbanzo beans are so healthy, and inexpensive! You can buy a can of organic beans for $1.50 at Whole Foods, and they provide a lot of protein and nutrients.  I definitely plan on baking these again soon.

Leave a Reply

